40829453115_f81a49bf67_o.jpg

BIO

Pierre Fauteux has been passionate about photography since childhood. His work is as much about capturing the moment as it is about transmitting the memories and feelings that he evokes on black and white film by "sculpting" with light.

A lifelong fan of analogue photography, Pierre is attracted to everyday forms and subjects, the very ones we can easily overlook. He invites us to rediscover them by highlighting their volumes and rough edges, revealing their nuances and humanity as well. His work delves equally into the movements of straight photography and pictorialism, without adhering rigidly to either.

 

After completing his education in anthropology and archaeology, for an extended period he was one of the rare Quebec specialists in archaeological documentation and architectural heritage photography.

 

Pierre Fauteux is also the founder and artistic director of Umanium, a company specializing in the design of heritage enhancement and multimedia productions for museums and cultural centres. He has over 70 creations to his credit in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada.

 

Pierre Fauteux's work in analogue photography will be exhibited at Reford Gardens (Grand-Métis, QC), during the summer of 2021. For this occasion, a collector's book has been published and is offered for purchase on site as well as on Pierre Fauteux's website, pierrefauteux.com

40829453115_f81a49bf67_o.jpg

BIO

Pierre Fauteux est passionné de photo depuis l’enfance. Son travail s’inscrit autant dans la capture de l’instant que dans la transmission; celle des mémoires et des ressentis qu’il saisit sur film noir et blanc en « sculptant » la lumière.

Adepte depuis toujours de la photographie argentique, Pierre s’intéresse aux formes et aux sujets du quotidien, ceux-là mêmes que l’on oublie presque de voir. Il nous amène à les redécouvrir en en soulignant les volumes et les aspérités, en dévoilant leur humanité aussi. Les mouvements de la straight photography et du pictorialisme s’inscrivent depuis toujours dans son travail, sans dogmatisme ni rigidité.

 

Après avoir terminé une formation en anthropologie et en archéologie, il fut longtemps l’un des rares spécialistes québécois en photographie de documentation archéologique et du patrimoine architectural.

 

Pierre Fauteux est également le fondateur et le directeur artistique d’Umanium, une société spécialisée en idéation de valorisation des patrimoines et en réalisations multimédias pour musées et centres culturels. Il a plus de 70 créations à son actif au Québec et ailleurs au Canada.

 

Le travail d’auteur en argentique de Pierre Fauteux fera l’objet d’une exposition aux Jardins de Métis (Grand-Métis, Québec), pendant toute la période estivale 2021. Pour cette occasion, un livre collector sera édité et vendu sur les lieux ainsi que sur le site web de Pierre Fauteux.