44110114425_9153ddf047_o.jpg

UMANIUM

PROJECT

Our intangible cultural heritage, that which is transmitted by word and deeds, is without a doubt the one to which Pierre Fauteux is most attuned. It is perhaps his training as an anthropologist, or simply his humanistic vision, that drives his admiration for human imagination, accomplishment, and know-how.

Through a series of analogue photos, Pierre presents the fruit of his encounters with people, all of them wise in their ways, who have accumulated so much knowledge and who help keep our heritage alive.

 
Nicoles.JPG

THE TAILOR

Nicolas is Greek and proud. He arrived in Quebec thirty years ago with a pair of scissors in his suitcase. They will fall silent the very same day when Nicolas will retire.

Poised at his sewing machine in full view through the window of the neighbourhood drycleaner’s, the man with steady hands makes alterations for customers who want to give their favourite garments a second lease on life.

I had introduced myself the day before and Nicolas was waiting for me. I noticed that for the occasion he was wearing his beautiful shirt monogrammed on the pocket with his initials NN.

 

THE CABINETMAKER

Marlène is French. She came to Quebec to follow her dreams. Adventurous? Yes, but shy too.

Surrounded by men, she plies her craft in a workshop that makes the sets for our plays. Although the young woman is well appreciated within the team, there is no favouritism here. She wouldn’t want there to be.

She arrived with an empty toolbox and no experience. It was Rémi, the workshop manager, who shared the gift of his knowledge, happy to pass it on.

Marlène returned to France two years ago with her pockets full of Quebec know-how. What has become of her now?

26392030816_3f4901a78c_o.jpg
 
15279716656_438a4b5e16_o.jpg

THE UPHOLSTERER

That time I wished I could speak Spanish. He didn't speak French or English, so I relied on sign language to get his permission to snap some taps of his hammer with my camera.  That was in Girona.

It seemed to me that he had been doing this forever... since long ago. He worked alone in the back of his workshop, lit by the reflection of the Onyar River sparkling just behind. It is unlikely anyone will continue tapping his hammer when he is done. Only the thousands of tacks that he has meticulously aligned on the backs of chairs will remain.

It was a Sunday and the man seemed anxious to finish his work. I had scarcely left the room when I heard the hammer resume the same rhythm that had first caught my ear. I turned around and saw the opportunity to take a self-portrait with the artist, who had already forgotten me.

 

THE SCULPTORS

On the island of Bali, north of Ubud, wood is at the heart of life. The men carve in the local tradition.

 

Along the winding roads, each house is a small workshop. In the courtyard, a mountain of wood chips reminds the small team that life is work. Always seated on the ground, the sculptor repeats the same gestures every day. He is the expert on a single model to ensure uniformity of production. Often, the design is not his own.  

 

The meticulous work of all converges in the city, at a wholesaler like Mirah Bali. He poses with pride, the sculptor, with talent.

25183503195_e64fac8dda_o.jpg
 
13181124215_8dd2ba6828_o.jpg

THE LUTHIER

The workshop of master luthier Jules Saint-Michel is known to all Montreal violinists and his expertise knows no boundaries. For more than forty years, people have entrusted Jules with some of the most beautiful instruments in the world, confident that he will treat them with love. He loves them so much that, since 1999, he has welcomed us to his small museum on the second floor of his world of strings.

Jules was not there the day I visited, but three luthiers were working to do his handiwork. An impassioned apprentice, Jean came from France to learn from the master. He was engrossed with fitting a joyful violin with a new key and a shiny coat of varnish. A craft that suited him to a “T”, he assured me.

 

The place had an atmosphere of resin and work well done.

 

THE PHYSIONOMIST

Hossein Padar learned his trade from his father. In 1974, he opened his shop in the heart of Montreal, on Sainte-Catherine Street.

 

The artist and businessman no longer applies his trade but his establishment will survive him. I went there to have a suit adjusted that had never fit. The young Syrian tailor who takes care of me seems to have fifty years of experience, so adeptly does he alter the brushed cotton to the shape of my skin with his needle.

I am to return in two weeks for the fitting and I tell him that I will bring my Rolleiflex. As fastidious as can be, he will insist that day to adjust the size which does not yet rise to the standards of Hossein, who spies upon us from his vantage.

15529433296_e354c467cf_o.jpg

44110114425_9153ddf047_o.jpg

PROJET UMANIUM

Le patrimoine culturel immatériel, celui qui se transmet par la parole et le geste, est sans doute celui auquel Pierre Fauteux est le plus sensible. C'est peut-être sa formation d'anthropologue, ou simplement sa vision humaniste, qui poussent son admiration pour l'imagination, l'accomplissement et le savoir-faire humain.

Par une série de photos argentiques, Pierre vous présente le fruit de ses rencontres avec des gens, tous de grande taille, qui savent ô combien de choses et qui contribuent à maintenir vivants les patrimoines.

 
Nicoles.JPG

LE TAILLEUR

Nicolas est Grec et fier. Il est arrivé au Québec il y a trente ans, une paire de ciseaux dans sa valise. Ils s’endormiront ce même jour où Nicolas prendra sa retraite.

Installé à sa machine à coudre bien en vue derrière la vitrine du nettoyeur de quartier, l'homme aux mains sûres fait des retouches pour les clients qui souhaitent raviver leurs vêtements chers.

Je m'étais annoncé la veille et Nicolas m'attendait, mine de rien. J'ai tout de même remarqué qu'il portait pour l'occasion sa belle chemise à la poche brodée de ses initiales NN.

 

L'ÉBÉNISTE

Marlène est Française. Elle est venue au Québec pour y vivre ses rêves. Aventurière? Oui, mais timide aussi. 

Entourée d'hommes, elle travaille dans un atelier qui fabrique les décors de nos pièces de théâtre. Cette jeune femme est appréciée au sein de l'équipe, mais on ne la ménage pas. Elle ne le souhaite pas, d’ailleurs.

Elle est arrivée avec un trousseau vide, sans expérience. C'est Rémi, le chef d'atelier, qui lui fait cadeau de tous ses savoirs, heureux de les transmettre.

Marlène a regagné la France il y a deux ans avec une poignée du savoir-faire québécois dans ses poches. Qu’advient-elle maintenant?

26392030816_3f4901a78c_o.jpg
 
15279716656_438a4b5e16_o.jpg

LE REBOURREUR

J'aurais voulu savoir parler espagnol cette fois-là. Lui ne parlant ni français ni anglais, c'est avec un langage de signes que j'obtiens son accord pour emprunter sur ma pellicule quelques coups de marteau. Nous sommes à Gérone.

D'où prend-il son métier? Il me semble le faire depuis toujours... et ça remonte à il y a bien longtemps. Il travaille seul dans le fond de son atelier éclairé par la rivière Onyar qui scintille tout juste derrière. Il n'aura probablement pas de relève. Seuls resteront les milliers de clous qu'il a minutieusement alignés au dos des fauteuils.

C'était un dimanche et l'homme semblait soucieux de terminer son ouvrage. Je n'ai pas encore quitté le local que j'entends le marteau reprendre la même cadence qui m'avait interpellé. Je me retourne et j’en profite pour faire un autoportrait en compagnie de l'artiste, qui m'a déjà oublié.

 

LES SCULPTEURS

Sur l'île de Bali, au nord d’Ubud, le bois est au cœur de la vie. Les hommes sculptent la tradition locale.

 

Le long des routes sinueuses, chaque maisonnette est un petit atelier. Dans la cour, une montagne de morceaux de bois rappelle à la petite équipe que la vie, c'est le travail. Toujours assis au sol, le sculpteur reprend chaque jour les mêmes gestes. Il est l'expert d'un seul modèle pour assurer l'uniformité de la production. Souvent, le design n'est pas de lui.  

 

Le travail minutieux de tous converge vers la ville, chez un grossiste comme Mirah Bali. Il pose avec fierté, le sculpteur, avec talent.

25183503195_e64fac8dda_o.jpg
 
13181124215_8dd2ba6828_o.jpg

LE LUTHIER

L'atelier du luthier Jules Saint-Michel est connu de tous les violonistes de Montréal et son savoir-faire n'a plus de frontières. Depuis plus de quarante ans, on confie à Jules parmi les plus beaux instruments du monde, confiants qu'il les traitera avec amour. Il les aime tant qu'il nous accueille, depuis 1999, dans un économusée au second étage de son univers à cordes.

Jules n'était pas là le jour de ma visite, mais trois luthiers travaillaient avec ses mains à lui. Passionné, Jean est venu de France pour apprendre du maître. Il donnait à un heureux violon une clé neuve et une couche de vernis bien poli. Un métier taillé pour lui, qu'il me disait.

 

L'endroit sentait l'acétone et le travail bien fait.

 

LE PHYSIONOMISTE

Hossein Padar a appris son métier de son père. Il ouvre, en 1974, son atelier en plein cœur de Montréal, rue Sainte-Catherine.

 

L'artiste et homme d'affaires ne travaille plus mais son établissement lui survivra. J'y suis allé pour faire ajuster un complet qui ne m'a jamais fait. Le jeune tailleur syrien qui s'occupe de moi semble avoir cinquante ans de métier tellement il ajuste bien, à coups d'aiguille, ce coton brossé à ma peau.

Je dois revenir dans deux semaines pour l'essayage et je lui annonce que j'apporterai mon Rolleiflex. Minutieux jusqu'aux os, il insistera ce jour-là pour reprendre la taille qui ne répond pas encore aux standards d'Hossein, qui nous espionne.

15529433296_e354c467cf_o.jpg